National Eucharistic Congress includes series exclusive to priests, deacons

Friday, May. 17, 2024
By OSV News

A special track just for priests has been added to the schedule of the National Eucharistic Congress in Indianapolis July 17-21, with speakers including two bishops and prominent theologians.

The 90-minute “impact session” titled “Abide: The Priest Experience” will be offered on days two, three and four of the five-day congress.

Day Two features speakers theologian Scott Hahn, founder and president of the St. Paul Center, and Father Brian Welter, executive director of the Institute for Priestly Formation in Omaha, Nebraska. Day Three features Bishop Andrew H. Cozzens of Crookston, Minnesota, chairman of the board of the National Eucharistic Congress Inc.; Dan Cellucci, CEO of Catholic Leadership Institute; Tim Glemkowski, CEO of National Eucharistic Congress Inc.; Jason Simon, president of The Evangelical Catholic; and Jonathan Reyes, senior vice president of strategic partnerships and senior adviser for the Knights of Columbus. Cellucci returns on Day Four, along with Bishop Daniel E. Flores of Brownsville, Texas.

Day Two and Day Three also include priest-only luncheons sponsored respectively by the St. Paul Center, which offers clergy resources, and Pushpay, a charity donor management system.

Meanwhile, deacons are invited on Day Two, Three and Four to the Deacon Luncheon Experience, which features as speakers Deacon Dominic Cerrato, director of the diaconate office for the Diocese of Joliet in Illinois, editor of OSV’s The Deacon magazine and director of Diaconal Ministries; Deacon James Keating, professor of spiritual theology at Kenrick-Glennon Seminary in St. Louis; Deacon Omar Gutiérrez, president and executive director of the Evangelium Institute in the Archdiocese of Omaha; and Deacon Joseph Michalak, a former director of diaconate formation who is now implementing the Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis’ three-year synod.

For questions, comments or to report inaccuracies on the website, please CLICK HERE.
© Copyright 2024 The Diocese of Salt Lake City. All rights reserved.